A History of Gumeracha and District 1839-1939
- Usually Ships Within 7 Days
Media: DATA CD - 1 CD (182 pages)
Author: J. Monfries
Year: (1939) 2013
Other: b&w photos, index
Publisher: Archive Digital Books Australasia
Written by J. Monfries in 1939 to celebrate the centenary of "the picturesque little village of Gumeracha, in the Adelaide Hills", this book examines all aspects of life in Gumeracha and nearby Kenton Valley and North Gumeracha (now called Forreston).
In 186 pages, it covers:
- Churches: Salem Baptist, Gumeracha Methodist, Hartley Vale Primitive Methodist and Kenton Valley Baptist
- Community groups and facilities: Gumeracha Institute, Recreation Group, Independent Order of Rechabites
- Schools: Gumeracha Primary chookl, Misses Tuck's School, North Gumeracha Public School
- Businesses: Gumeracha Butter Factory Company
- Military: Returned Sailors' and Soldiers' Imperial League, Solders' Memorial Hospital, Mounted Rifles
- Musical life
- Sports clubs: cricket, football, croquet and tennis
- Biographies and photographs of many of the pioneers of the area
Portion of a sample entry:
Mr. and Mrs. Gregory of Belford, England, left the old country in the ship "Hartley", in April 1837, having as passengers Mr. Giles, Manager, and other Officers of the South Australian Company. Arriving at Kangaroo Island, and thinking they has reached the New Colony, they all unloaded their belongings and started to erect houses and clear the land. After12 months the South Australian Company removed them to the mainland, where Mr. Gregory purchased an allotment in Waymouth Street, and started a store ...
High quality scanned images of the whole of the original book. This CD has been bookmarked for easy navigation, and pages can be searched, browsed, enlarged and printed out if required.
Any computer using Adobe (Acrobat) Reader 4 or later
Adobe Reader 6 or later is recommended for CDs with searchable text