Free Genealogy e-book

(Your shopping cart is empty)

  Home > Victoria > Electoral Rolls >

  Victoria Commonwealth Electoral Roll 1939
Victoria Commonwealth Electoral Roll 1939

Alternative Views:

Price if purchased separately AU$590.00 Inc GST
Set price AU$99.51 Inc GST
You save AU$490.49!
Media: DATA CD - 2 CDs (19600 pages)
Year: (1939) 2010
ISBN: 9781742228754

Availability: Usually Ships Within 7 Days
Product Code: AU7201-1939

Electoral rolls are the nearest thing Australians have to census records, and hence they are extremely important and useful for local, family and social historians.

This CD set includes the rolls for the Balaclava, Ballaarat, Batman, Bendigo, Bourke, Corangamite, Corio, Deakin, Fawkner, Flinders, Gippsland, Henty, Indi, Kooyong, Maribyrnong, Melbourne, Melbourne Ports, Wannon, Wimmera and Yarra Divisions of Victoria in 1939 – 19,600 pages. Entries are arranged alphabetically within each subdivision. You will find the details of over 1 million voters who resided in Victoria at this time, and who were entitled (and registered) to vote. Importantly, the roll includes the names of many women qualified to vote for the election of members of the Commonwealth parliament.

The electoral subdivisions for each of the divisions are (each is also available indiviually):

  • Balaclava - Brighton, Caulfield, Caulfield West, Elsternwick and St Kilda
  • Ballaarat - Bacchus Marsh, Ballaarat, Ballaarat East, Ballaarat North, Ballaarat West, Ballan, Castlemaine, Creswick, Daylesford, Gong Gong, Kyneton, Learmonth, Meredith, Mount Pleasant, Sebastopol, Soldiers’ Hill, Warrenheip and Woodend
  • Batman - Alphington, Fitzroy North, Northcote, Preston and Westgarth
  • Bendigo - Bendigo, Charlton, Cohuna, Dunolly, Eaglehawk, Echuca, Elmore, Golden Square, Heathcote, Inglewood, Lancefield, Marong, Mitiamo, Pyramid Hill, Rochester, Rushworth, Sandhurst East, Strathfieldsaye and Wedderburn
  • Bourke - Blyth, Brunswick West, Coburg, Edward and Mitchell
  • Corangamite - Allansford, Ararat, Avoca, Bannockburn, Beaufort, Beeac, Beech Forest, Birregurra, Camperdown, Carisbrook, Clunes, Cobden, Colac, Krambruk, Landsborough, Linton, Maldon, Maryborough, Mortlake, Penshurst, Port Campbell, Smythesdale, Terang and Willaura
  • Corio - Altona, Broadmeadows, Drysdale, Essendon North, Fawkner, Geelong, Geelong North, Geelong West, Gisborne, Newton & Chilwell, Queenscliff, Sunbury, Sunshine and Werribee
  • Deakin - Alexandra, Avenel, Box Hill, Croydon, Diamond Creek, Doncaster, Healesville, Heidelberg, Ivanhoe, Kangaroo Ground, Kilmore, Lilydale, Mansfield, Mitcham, Ringwood, Seymour, Surrey Hills, Warburton and Yea
  • Fawkner - Armadale, Gardiner, Malvern, Prahran, St Kilda North, South Yarra and Toorak
  • Flinders - Berwick, Burwood, Carrum, Dandenong, Dromana, Drouin, Ferntree Gully, Frankston, Kooweerup, Loch, Mentone, Oakleigh East, Pakenham and Warragul
  • Gippsland - Bairnsdale, Bruthen, Foster, Korumburra, Leongatha, Lindenow, Lucknow, Maffra, Morwell, Neerim South, Omeo, Orbost, Rosedale, Sale, Stratford, Toongabbie, Trafalgar, Traralgon, Walhalla, Wonthaggi, Yallourn and Yarram
  • Henty - Bentleigh, Caulfield East, Cheltenham, Glenhuntly, Malvern East, Oakleigh and Sandringham
  • Indi - Beechworth, Benalla, Chiltern, Cobram, Corryong, Euroa, Kyabram, Moyhu, Nagambie, Nathalia, Numurkah, Ovens, Rutherglen, Shepparton, Tallangatta, Tatura, Tungamah, Violet Town, Wangaratta, Wodonga, Yackandandah and Yarrawonga
  • Kooyong - Auburn, Camberwell, Camberwell North, Canterbury and Kew
  • Maribyrnong - Ascot Vale, Essendon, Footscray, Footscray North, Footscray South, Moonee Ponds and Yarraville
  • Melbourne - Carlton, Fitzroy, Melbourne, Newmarket, North Melbourne and Parkville
  • Melbourne Ports - Albert Park, Newport, Port Melbourne, St Kilda West, South Melbourne and Williamstown
  • Wannon - Branxholme, Casterton, Dimboola, Goroke, Hamilton, Harrow, Horsham, Horsham South, Jeparit, Kaniva, Koroit, Murtoa, Nhill, Port Fairy, Portland, Stawell and Warrnambool
  • Wimmera - Birchip, Boort, Donald, Hopetoun, Kerang, Mildura, Minyip, Ouyen, Quambatook, Rainbow, St Arnaud, Sea Lake, Swan Hill, Ultima, Warracknabeal and Wycheproof
  • Yarra - Abbotsford, Clifton Hill, Collingwood, Hawthorn and Richmond
Maps of the subdivisions of Corio and Melbourne Divisions are included on the CD.

The following information is included for many (but not all) entries:

  • No. on Roll
  • Name in full
  • Place of living
  • Occupation
  • Sex
  • Commonwealth Division and Subdivision, State Assembly District
Where applicable, each roll also lists the particulars regarding electors enrolled by virtue of a property qualification as electors for the State Assembly only.

This CD contains high quality scanned images of the original book, and has been bookmarked for easy navigation. Pages can be searched, browsed, enlarged and printed out if required.

System Requirements
  • Any computer using Adobe (Acrobat) Reader 4 or later
  • Adobe Reader 6 or later is recommended for CDs with searchable text

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Victoria > Electoral Rolls
Archive Digital Books > Victoria > Miscellaneous Reference
Archive Digital Books > Victoria
Archive Digital Books