Loading... Please wait...
show / hide sidebar


The Six Colonies of New Zealand 1851

Usually Ships Within 7 Days

Product Description

Media: DATA CD - 1 CD (176 pages)
Author: W. Fox
Year: (1851) 2008
ISBN: 9781742221694
Publisher: Archive Digital Books Australasia

Sir William Fox (1812-1893) explorer, author, businessman, and politician, he was one who helped shape the Constitution Act of 1852, which established home rule for New Zealand. He also served as the nation's prime minister for a period.

After emigrating to New Zealand with his wife in 1842, William became editor of the 'New Zealand Gazette' and 'Britannia Spectator'. Fox became an agent for the New Zealand Company the following year and its principal agent in 1848. His lobbying in England (1851–52) was probably responsible for the addition of Taranaki to the five original provinces in the Constitution of 1852, which granted self-government.

Published in 1851, this 177 page work is Fox's description of the events leading up to the Constitution. This work provides statistical and descriptive accounts of each of the colonies of New Zealand, as well as providing details relating to the Maoris, and government both current and proposed ideas.

Fox's leading role as an explorer, New Zealand Company agent and incipient colonial politician gave the book an authority and pungency lacking from so many contemporary accounts.

High quality scanned images of the whole of the original book. This CD has been bookmarked for easy navigation, and pages can be searched, browsed, enlarged and printed out if required.

Chapter 1. Descriptive and Statistical
1. General Description of the Islands
2. The Separate Colonies
 - Wellington
 - Nelson
 - Otago
 - Canterbury
 - New Plymouth
 - Auckland
3. The Pensioner Villages
Chapter 2. The Natives
1. Their Number
2. Their Civilization
3. Our Relations With
4. Native Character
5. Missionary Influence
6. Native Title to Waste Lands
7. The Waste Lands
Chapter 3. Government
1. The Existing Form
2. Present Government - Effects of.
3. Administration of Justice
4. Currency, and Intestate Estates
5. Communication between different Settlements
6. Self-Government
7. Constitutions - Existing and Proposed
On the Transfer of Land.

Any computer using Adobe (Acrobat) Reader 4 or later. Adobe Reader 6 or later is recommended for CDs with searchable text.

The Six Colonies of New Zealand 1851

Product Reviews

Write Review

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Find Similar Products by Category

Questions & Phone Orders

Questions & Phone Orders

1/1257 North East Road
Ridgehaven South Australia 5097
1300 526 069 | (08) 8263 2055

Shop with Confidence

Shop with Confidence

We accept payment by credit card, Paypal, direct deposit, cheque or money order.

30 Day Moneyback Guarantee

30 Day Moneyback Guarantee

If you're not 100% satisfied with your purchase, please let us know. You can return it unopened or in as new condition within 30 days of purchase for full refund or credit, excluding freight.

Genealogy Ebooks
Genealogy Blog
Gould Digital
Unlock the Past Cruises
Dragonfly Genealogy

Back to Top